Percorso:ANSA > Nuova Europa > Kosovo > Spain not applying visa exemption to Kosovo: EU

Spain not applying visa exemption to Kosovo: EU

All other Schengen countries have recognised Pristina's papers

21 April, 15:50
(ANSA) - BELGRADE, APR 21 - "With the exception of Spain, all Schengen countries have recognised Kosovo's travel documents," which implies that "Kosovo passport holders will be able to travel visa-free in all Schengen countries except one," said a representative for the European Commission in relation to the recent approval by the European Parliament of visa liberalisation for Kosovo, which will go into effect in 2024.

According to the spokeswoman, "the recognition of travel documents falls within national competences." Spain is one of five EU member countries that does not recognise Kosovo as a sovereign state. (ANSA).

© Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved